Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events

This Spring at the Shepherd Park Library

Every Mon, 10:30 am
Every Sat, 11:00 am
Family Story Time

Wed, May 8 & 22, 10:30 am
Wed, Jun 12 & 26, 10:30 am
Music and Movement
Singing and dancing for children 0-5 and their caregivers.

Wed, May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, 4 pm
Teen Talk
Tweens and teens between the ages of 12 and 14 are invited to the library for conversation and connection.

Mon and Thu, 1-5 pm
Studio Lab Drop In
Check out the studio lab for music and video editing.

Tue, May 7, 4:00 pm
Meet a Washington Ballet Dancer
Washington Ballet dancers visit the library for a ballet Q&A and to teach some ballet movements.

Tue, Jun 4, 11, 18, 25 4 pm
Pride Month Craft Series
A new craft honoring pride month every Tuesday in June for children 3-12.

Sat, Jun 8, 10:00 am
Summer Reading Kick Off
A neighborhood party celebrating the start of the library’s summer challenge.

 

MAY

Sat May 4, 7 pm
15th Annual Shepherd Elementary School Spring Gala & Auction
Atrium, Bobby Van’s Grill 1201 New York Ave NW

Tues, May 7, 7 pm
ANC 4A Mtg
4D HQ, 6001 Georgia Ave NW

Weds, 6 pm
New Weekly Option at WES: Join us every Wednesday night starting at 6pm as we gather for a community dinner then break up in affinity groups for deeper conversations. Spaces for kids, teens, parents, divorced parents, those that like to play music or sing, and more! Wash. Ethical Soc’y.

Sun. May 12, 11 am
Mother’s Day Service
Shepherd Park Christian Church. Please join us at 7900 Eastern Ave.

Tues, May 14, 7 pm
SPCA Community Mtg.
Shepherd Elementary School

Thurs, May 16, 7 pm
4D Police Citizens Advisory Council Mtg
4D HQ 6001 Georgia Ave NW

Sun, May 19, 1 pm
Sunday Book Club: Books to Learn About Others.
Join us to discuss “The Jew in the Modern World: A Documentary History” by Paul Mendes-Flohr and Jehuda Reinharz, Wash. Ethical Soc’y.

Tues, May 28, 6:30 pm
Authors Series
The Friends of the Shepherd Park Library and Library Staff, present Charles Ray of Potomac, Md. to discuss and sign his book Buffalo Soldiers: The Lost Expedition. The Soldiers are sent to find a geologist and his researchers who are presumed lost in the Sangre de Christo Mountains of New Mexico. The program will be held on the Second Floor, Shepherd Park Library, 7420 Georgia Ave., NW

 

JUNE

Sat, June 1, 9:30 am
The Rock Creek Civil War Roundtable will host Dr. Edward L. Ayers to discuss and
sign his latest book, The Thin Light of Freedom, which like his Bancroft Prize – 2003 winning “In
the Presence of Mine Enemies: Civil War in the Heart of America, 1859 –1863,” is ground-level history, recounting the lives of ordinary men and women. The book presents the drama of life in two communities, one Southern and one Northern, from the time of John Brown’s raid through the era of Reconstruction. Rock Creek Park Nature Center; 5200 Glover Rd NW

Sun, Jun 2, 2-5 pm
SPCA Garden Tour
Starts at Shepherd Elementary School
7800 14th St NW,

Mon, June 3, 7:30- 9 pm
Mindfulness Meeting.
This group meets monthly on the first Monday of the month for people interested in practicing meditation and living with mindfulness – or for anyone wanting to find out more about these topics. We explore both practices and ideas. Contact Trish Weil at patricialweil@gmail.com or Ann Baker at bakera@gao.gov. Wash. Ethical Soc’y.

Tues, June 4, 7 pm
ANC 4A Mtg,
4D HQ, 6001 Georgia Ave NW

Sun. June 16, 11 am
Father’s Day Service
Shepherd Park Christian Church. Please join us at 7900 Eastern Ave.

Thurs, June 20, 7 pm
4D Police Citizens Advisory Council Mtg
6001 Georgia Ave NW