Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC)

  • What is an Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC)?

    An ANC is a non-partisan body comprised of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners that reflect neighborhood positions, policy, and approaches to the Mayor, Council and other DC government agencies.  They are a unique feature of the District of Columbia’s Home Rule Charter.  

    What are the responsibilities of an ANC?

    An ANC’s main responsibility is to be their neighborhood’s official voice in advising the District government (and Federal agencies) on things that affect their neighborhoods. An ANC may also initiate recommendations for improving city services, conduct neighborhood improvement programs, and monitor resident complaints. In order for our ANC to fully function, it relies on the active participation of residents. 

    When are ANC Commissioners elected and what is a Single Member District (SMD)?

    The Commissioners serve two-year terms without pay, are elected at DC Elections in November in even-numbered years (e.g. 2020). Each ANC area is subdivided into a number of smaller areas. Since only one Commissioner is elected per district, they are called Single Member Districts (SMDs).  Each ANC Single Member District (SMD) has about 2,000 residents.  Check this map to find your SMD.

    For more information about Advisory Neighborhood Commissions and Commissioners, you can learn more here.

    DC Advisory Neighborhood Commission 4A
    7720 Alaska Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20012
    202-450-6225 office
    Website | Email

    ANC 4A meets the first Tuesday of every month (except July & August) at 7 pm at MPD 4th District HQ Community Meeting Room, 6001 Georgia Avenue N.W.







    Phyllis C. Green

    7131 16th Street NW
    Washington, DC 20012



    Stacey Lincoln

    7436 Georgia Avenue NW #303
    Washington, DC 20012



    Stephen Whatley

    1315 Fern Street NW
    Washington, DC 20012



    Patience R. Singleton

    1316 Tuckerman Street NW
    Washington, DC 20011







    Candace T. Nelson

    1000 Rittenhouse St. NW #G
    Washington, DC 20011



    Marlene Moss

    1637 Montague Street NW
    Washington, D.C. 20011





    Gale Black

    1761 Crestwood Drive NW
    Washington, DC 20011